The Dixon-Rhyne Project - Reinvention

The Dixon-Rhyne Project - Reinvention
From the opening track, the earthy, grooving Repub Club, it's clear that this is no ordinary organ quartet date. By deftly combining old school elements and modern modes of expression, the members of The Dixon-Rhyne Project have arrived at a startlingly fresh place -- essentially, a Reinvention of the jazz organ quartet. Despite their age difference, the four kindred spirits hit on a grooving accord from the opener, ĪRepub Club,Ķ and continue that copasetic chemistry through the remaining nine tracks. With grooves so phat and playing so proficient, The Dixon-Rhyne Project is bound to catch on with the burgeoning audience for technically proficient jam bands. Reinvention is just the first step in this new direction for elder statesman Rhyne and his crew of young groovemeisters. (taken from liner notes by Bil Milkowski)

Artist Roster:
Rob Dixon: Saxophones
Melvin Rhyne: Organ
Fareed Haque: Guitars
Kenny Phelps: Drums

Track Listing:
1. Repub Club
2. Mel's Groove
3. Shadow and Light
4. Reinvention
5. Carousel
6. Chitl'lins Con Carne
7. Tomorrow Sierra
8. Fantastic Prizes
9. Mind's Eye
10. Johannesburg


Here's a case of old school meets new school. Just more proof that there's exciting, fresh takes on old school jazz coming out of Indianapolis these days. - PICO BlogCritics.org

Coupled with glistening harmonic phrasings and fluid group-centric dialogues, the artists occasionally pull out the proverbial stops via torrid soloing sojourns. In sum, this is one of those unanticipated surprises that many reviewers often thrive upon... - GLENN ASTRARITA EJazzNews.com

Customers who bought this product also purchased
The Headhunters - Platinum
The Headhunters - Platinum
Beyond Jazz (13)
Jazz (19)
Other (1)
Quick Find
Use keywords to find the product you are looking for.
Advanced Search
0 items
Share Product